The recorded history of Flowerdew Hundred begins in 1618, when the Virginia Company of London granted George Yeardley a thousand acres on the James River, but written documents tell an incomplete story. As early as ten thousand years ago, successive groups of Virginia Indians began to occupy the site. English colonists, enslaved African Americans, Union soldiers, and countless others later followed—each group leaving behind evidence of their daily lives.
Over the past several decades, a clearer picture of Virginia’s early inhabitants and their ways of life has emerged through archaeological excavations at this property. The artifacts on display from the Flowerdew Hundred Collection at the University of Virginia highlight some of the many stories that have been unearthed at this unique site.
Curator, Flowerdew Hundred Collection